Rule Change To Use Damaged Or Broken Clubs

Ryan Rustand

Ryan Rustand

SwingU Instructor

Have you ever broken a golf club out of anger during a round? Well, good news for you rage monsters! You are now allowed to continue using a damaged club, or even have the ability to repair the club during the same round of golf!

Full disclosure, we do not encourage random outbursts of anger resulting in damaged equipment.

Under Rule 4-1, a player is allowed to keep using and/or repair any club damaged during the round, no matter what the damage and even if the player damaged it in anger. A player will not be allowed to replace a damaged club, except when it is damaged during the round by an outside influence or natural forces or by someone other than the player or his or her caddie.

Reasons for Change

This Rule change will greatly simplify the complex Rules on damaged clubs. Allowing a player to keep using or to repair any damaged club, regardless of the nature or cause of the damage, will benefit players in several ways.

It will help players avoid the disqualification penalties that can arise today when a player hits a club against something in anger and then continues to use the club, not realizing that the shaft was slightly bent or some other damage had occurred.

The player will be able to choose whether to continue using that club in its damaged state or to use another club; whereas today, for example, a player who damages a putter in anger is not allowed to use it for the rest of the round (even if it is still in a usable form) and so ends up having to putt with a wedge or another club.

This potential downside from a player’s perspective is outweighed by the ability to use or repair any damaged club, as well as by the significant simplification that results.