Under Rule 10.1a, if the player’s club accidentally hits the ball more than once during a single stroke there will be no penalty and the ball will be played as it lies.
Where a double hit occurs as part of a single stroke and was not the intention of the player, it was felt unfair and unnecessary for the player to be penalized.
Just as there is no penalty if a player’s ball accidentally deflects off his or her body, equipment or caddie, there is no need for a penalty when a player accidentally strikes his or her own ball in making a stroke.
- Accidental deflections are, by definition, an accident.
- The outcome in such cases is random and unpredictable, and it results in a disadvantage for the player as often as it results in an advantage.