1. USGA Goofs at U.S. Open
Dustin Johnson’s great U.S. Open win did not come without a spurt of controversy. On the 5th hole, his 6-foot par putt moved without him influencing it. After a brief conversation, he was told no penalty would be applied. Then on the 12th hole, he was “put on notice” that a stroke could be added, and it ultimately was. Thankfully, this gaffe didn’t affect the outcome. The USGA has changed the rule since the incident so golfers won’t be penalized for the ball accidentally moving – about time!