The Odds: Rory McIlroy Favorite to Win FedExCup Championship

In 2007, the PGA Tour introduced the FedExCup, a playoff system to crown a champion for the season. Tiger Woods won the inaugural FedExCup and did so once again in 2009. Other winners include Vijay Singh (2008), Jim Furyk (2010), Bill Haas (2011), Brandt Snedeker (2012) and Henrik Stenson (2013).

Golfers accumulate FedExCup points throughout the season, and the bigger the tournament, the higher the stakes. Regular PGA Tour events reward the winner with 500 points, while World Golf Championship events (550 points), and the four majors and The Players Championship (600) are worth more.

The FedExCup playoffs are comprised of four events following the conclusion of the PGA Tour regular season. Those four events are The Barclays (this week’s event), Deutsche Bank Championship, BMW Championship and the Tour Championship by Coca-Cola.

Not only is the point total quintupled (2,500 points rewarded to the winner) during these four events, but there is a progressive cut as well. The top 125 qualifiers — determined by PGA Tour FedExCup points — will start in the first week, but that number is cut to 100 for the Deutsche Bank Championship, before being trimmed to 70 for the BMW Championship. Following a points reset, the top 30 will compete in the Tour Championship with the winner crowned FedExCup champion.

Rory McIlroy — red-hot with wins at the Open Championship, WGC-Bridgestone and PGA Championship over his last three events — is the clear favorite in Las Vegas, at 5-to-2 odds, to be crowned 2014 FedExCup champion. He’s currently the 4-to-1 favorite to win The Barclays.

Matt Kuchar (10-to-1 odds) is the second choice on the LVH SuperBook’s oddsboard, while five players — Adam Scott, Bubba Watson, Rickie Fowler, Jim Furyk and Sergio Garcia — check in at 15-to-1.

Odds to win 2014 FedExCup Championship, LVH SuperBook
Rory McIlroy 5-2
Matt Kuchar 10-1
Adam Scott 15-1
Bubba Watson 15-1
Rickie Fowler 15-1
Jim Furyk 15-1
Sergio Garcia 15-1
Justin Rose 20-1
Jordan Spieth 20-1
Zach Johnson 25-1
Martin Kaymer 25-1
Henrik Stenson 30-1
Phil Mickelson 30-1
Webb Simpson 30-1
Hideki Matsuyama 40-1
Jason Day 40-1
Keegan Bradley 40-1
Ryan Moore 40-1
Harris English 40-1
Bill Haas 60-1
Brandt Snedeker 60-1
Graham DeLaet 60-1
Graeme McDowell 60-1
Hunter Mahan 80-1
Charl Schwartzel 80-1
Jason Dufner 100-1
Luke Donald 100-1
Gary Woodland 100-1
Angel Cabrera 100-1
Lee Westwood 150-1
Nick Watney 150-1
Ian Poulter 150-1
Billy Horschel 150-1
Freddie Jacobson 150-1
Charles Howell III 150-1
Jonas Blixt 200-1
Louis Oosthuizen 200-1
Ernie Els 200-1
Kevin Streelman 200-1
Brendon de Jonge 200-1
Bo Van Pelt 250-1
Ryo Ishikawa 250-1
Field (all others) 7-1

Off the board: Tiger Wood, Steve Stricker, Dustin Johnson, Martin Laird, John Peterson, Brooks Koepka, Scott Piercy
* All bets are action

Visit The Linemakers on Sporting News for all of your sports betting information and be sure to follow the The Linemakers on Twitter.

The Linemakers

Related Link: 9 Most Memorable FedExCup Moments

Other Hot Links 
– 5 Things You Need to Know: The Barclays at Ridgewood
– ‘The Golf Club’ Launches On Xbox One & PC
– 9 Best Golfer Appearances on Talk Shows
– Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy Accept Ice Bucket Challenge
– Tim Finchem, Tom Watson Continue Ice Bucket Challenge
– Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy Battle Jimmy Fallon on ‘Tonight Show’
– Fallon, McIlroy and Woods Help Launch New Nike Vapor Irons
– The Fringe: SI Jordan Flashback & Walker Recognized by NASA