2019 World Golf Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced

The World Golf Hall of Fame announced its induction class of 2019 on Wednesday, welcoming Retief Goosen, Peggy Kirk Bell, Billy Payne, Dennis Walters and Jan Stephenson to its hallowed halls. 

“The 2019 induction class is one of the most well-round groups we’ve had to date,” Jack Peter, president of the World Golf Hall of Fame, said. “We are excited to begin working with them as we gear up for the induction ceremony in Pebble Beach this June.”

Goosen will enter as perhaps the best-known player of the class. The two-time U.S. Open winner won seven times on the PGA Tour and 36 times around the world. He won the European Tour Order of Merit twice.

“It was a little bit of a shock,” Goosen said, according to GolfChannel.com. “You forget maybe what you’ve done over the game through the years, and I’m glad that what I’ve done for the game has gotten me into this position.”

The late Bell, who passed away in 2016, is being inducted in the lifetime achievement category for her advocacy of women’s golf. She won the USGA’s Bob Jones Award and became the first woman voted into the World Golf Teachers Hall of Fame in 2002. 

Payne, the former chairman of Augusta National Golf Club, will also be inducted in the lifetime achievement category for his work pushing the boundaries of club membership as well as developing several grow-the-game iniatives, such as the Drive, Chip & Putt and the Asian and Latino American Amateurs.

Walters, another lifetime achievement category inductee, is best known for his trick shots performed from his wheelchair after a professional career was lost when he was paralyzed in a golf cart accident at age 24. Since his accident, Walters performed over 3,000 shows. He is also a USGA Bob Jones Award winner and a PGA of America Lifetime Member.

Finally, Stephenson will be inducted from the female competitor category. She won 20 times professionally, including 16 times on the LPGA Tour and three major championships. 

The inductees will be enshrined on Monday, June 10, 2019, at the start of U.S. Open week at Pebble Beach.