Everyone Who Has Won The PGA Championship Since 2020

Jeff Roberson | AP

Since 2000, the PGA Championship has seen 5 repeat champions among a mix of golf’s biggest stars and lesser-known players. The 2024 tournament teases with possibilities: could Brooks Koepka clinch a back-to-back win for the second time, or might Tiger Woods chase his 5th title?

As we await the outcome of the tournament, let’s look back at the winners who have claimed the prestigious Wanamaker Trophy over the past two decades.

Tiger Woods (2000 Valhalla GC, 2006 Medinah CC, 2007 Southern Hills)

Morry Gash | AP

No surprise, Tiger Woods tops the list, winning the Wanamaker Trophy three times since 2000 (four if you include 1999). With victories in 2000, 2006, and 2007, can he tie Jack Nicklaus’s record of five PGA Championship wins in 2024?

David Toms (2001 Atlanta Athletic Club Highland Course)

Charles Neibergall | AP

David Toms, with 13 PGA Tour victories and 21 professional wins, is no stranger to success. His crowning achievement came with his victory at the 2001 PGA Championship.

Rich Beem (2002 Hazeltine National)

Mike Groll | AP

Rich Beem is best known for his 2002 PGA Championship victory, where he fended off a surging Tiger Woods to claim the Wanamaker Trophy.

Shaun Micheel (2003 Oak Hill)

David J Phillip | AP

Shaun Micheel’s limited PGA Tour success includes three victories, with his crowning moment coming in 2003 when he won the PGA Championship.

Vijay Singh (2004 Whistling Straits)

Marko GeorgieV | AP

Vijay Singh, known as “the Big Fijian,” has achieved remarkable success with 34 PGA Tour victories—the most by a non-American player. His major championship wins include one Masters title and two PGA Championships.

Phil Mickelson (2005 Baltusrol GC, 2021 Kiawah Island Golf Resort)

Charles Laberge/LIV Golf | AP

Philip “Lefty” Mickelson, now competing in the LIV Golf League, is a renowned American golfer with 45 PGA Tour victories. His six major championships include three Masters titles, two PGA Championships, and one Open Championship.

Pádraig Harrington (2008 Oakland Hills)

Paul Sancya | AP

Pádraig Harrington, an Irish golfer competing on the European Tour, PGA Tour, and PGA Tour Champions, has secured three major championships: The Open Championship in 2007 and 2008, and the PGA Championship in 2008.

Yang Yong-eun (2009 Hazeltine National)

Eugene Hoshiko | AP

Better known as Y. E. Yang, a South Korean golfer now on the PGA Tour Champions, made history on the PGA Tour with two victories, including the 2009 PGA Championship. He famously defeated Tiger Woods, becoming the first Asian-born male to win a major championship, giving him the nickname The Tiger Killer.

Martin Kaymer (2010 Whistling Straits)

Chris Trotman | AP

Martin Kaymer, a German golfer now in the LIV Golf League, boasts two major championships and an eight-week stint as the world’s top-ranked golfer in 2011. His first major win came at the 2010 PGA Championship, defeating Bubba Watson in a 3-hole playoff.

Keegan Bradley (2011 Atlanta Athletic Club)

Matt York | AP

Keegan Bradley, with six tour victories, notably claimed the 2011 PGA Championship. He joins an elite group of six golfers who have won in their major debut, a feat shared with legends like Ben Curtis, Francis Ouimet, and Horace Rawlins.

Rory McIlroy (2012 Kiawah Island GC, 2014 Valhalla GC)

Jeff Roberson | AP

Rory McIlroy, a Northern Irish golfer, holds a storied career on both the European and PGA Tours. As a former world number one, he boasts over 100 weeks atop the Official World Golf Ranking. With four major titles—including two PGA Championships—he joins the elite ranks of Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods in winning four majors by age 25.

Jason Dufner (2013 Oak Hill)

Matt York | AP

Jason Dufner, a five-time PGA Tour winner, claimed his lone major title at the 2013 PGA Championship. He was also the runner-up in the 2011 PGA Championship, narrowly losing to Keegan Bradley in a playoff.

Jason Day (2015 Whistling Straits)

Jeff Roberson | AP

Jason Day, an Australian golfer, gained early success by earning PGA Tour membership as a teenager and winning the HP Byron Nelson Championship in his third season. His breakout year came in 2015, winning five events, including the PGA Championship, and reaching world number one.

Jimmy Walker (2016 Baltusrol GC)

Seth Wenig | AP

James Walker endured a streak of 187 winless events before capturing three victories in early 2014. A six-time PGA Tour winner, he secured his first major title at the 2016 PGA Championship.

Justin Thomas (2017 Quail Hollow, 2022 Southern Hills)

Matt York | AP

Justin Thomas, a former World Number One, had a breakout year in 2017, winning five PGA Tour events and the FedEx Cup championship. He has claimed two major titles, the PGA Championship in 2017 and 2022.

Brooks Koepka (2018 Bellerive CC, 2019 Bethpage Black Course, 2023 Oak Hill CC)

Julio Cortez | AP

Brooks Koepka, now in the LIV Golf League, became world number one in October 2018 after winning the CJ Cup, holding the top spot for 47 weeks. He won the U.S. Open in 2017 and 2018, and the PGA Championship in 2018, 2019, and 2023, amassing five major titles in six years and becoming the first golfer to hold back-to-back titles in two majors simultaneously.

Colling Morikawa (2020 TPC Harding Park)

Jeff Roberson | AP

Collin Morikawa started his PGA Tour career with 22 consecutive made cuts, second only to Tiger Woods. He has six PGA Tour wins, including two majors—the 2020 PGA Championship and the 2021 Open Championship—both won in his debut.