Garcia DQ’d For Intentionally Damaging Greens

Sergio Garcia was disqualified from the European Tour’s Saudi International on Saturday for intentionally damaging greens at the Royal Greens Golf and Country Club.

In a statement, Garcia admitted to becoming frustrated and accepted his disqualification.

“I respect the decision of my disqualification,” he said. “In frustration, I damaged a couple of greens, for which I apologize for, and I have informed my fellow players it will never happen again.”

Garcia was disqualified under Rule 1.2(a), which accounts for disqualification from an event for a serious breach of the rules.

No footage of the incident has surfaced. Garcia shot rounds of 69 and 70 to make the cut at the event, but he did not complete his third round.