Lexi Embroiled in Another Rules Controversy


After a 4-stroke penalty at the first major championship of 2017 became the lasting memory of Lexi Thompson’s seventh year on the LPGA Tour, the 23-year-old has had another detrimental encounter with the Rules of Golf.


Playing in this week’s Honda LPGA Thailand at Siam Country Club – Pattaya Old Course, Thompson believed she had shot a second-round, 6-under par 66, but yet another rules infraction bumped that score up by two strokes.


Golf.com’s Jeff Ritter had more on her latest run-in with the rules.

Stop me if you’ve heard this one: Lexi Thompson was involved in a rules controversy.

No, it won’t resonate as painfully as her four-shot penalty at last year’s ANA Inspiration, which she eventually lost in a playoff. But in Round 2 at the Honda LPGA Thailand, she was slapped with another unconventional and harsh penalty all the same.

On her 15th hole, her ball came to rest near an advertising sign. At some courses on tour, these billboards are classified as man-made, moveable objects that can be shifted without penalty; at other tracks, they are “temporary immovable obstructions.” Thompson moved the sign out of her swing path, and unfortunately at Siam Country Club, the local rule deems that ad immovable. The penalty was two shots, and Thompson wasn’t notified of the infraction until she sat in the scorer’s tent after her round. Her 66 became a 68.



Keep yourself up-to-date with the latest goings-on in the world of golf by following the SwingxSwing Clubhouse on social media. We share stories, stats and breaking news on Twitter, keep the fun going off the course on Instagram and share any and all golf-related topics on Facebook.

Never be the odd golfer out when your friends are talking about the latest or funniest happenings in golf. Sign up for the SxS newsletter today!