2018 Ryder Cup Captain’s Picks Announced

 The Ryder Cup picture became crystal clear over the 16 hours between 5 p.m. EST on Tuesday and 9 a.m. EST on Wednesday. Both the American and European captains, Jim Furyk and Thomas Bjorn, respectively, announced seven of the eight men who would round out their teams.

For the Americans, Bryson DeChambeau, Phil Mickelson and Tiger Woods were selected. The fourth and final captain’s pick will be made next Monday morning following the completion of the BMW Championship.

“I think we have a lot of good options on the team and we still have options left that I’m excited about for next Monday,” Furyk said. “But Bryson separated himself from the field the last couple of weeks, for sure, and Tiger and Phil were, honestly, you’ve got 9, 10, 11 on the points list. Guys that had a great body of work, guys that are in great form right now, and Bryson put an exclamation points on things. Not that it was an easy decision, but it could have been a lot more difficult.”

While the American team was rounded out by a sizzling-hot rookie in DeChambeau and two veterans in Woods and Mickelson, Bjorn went the way of experience selecting Paul Casey, Sergio Garcia, Ian Poulter and Henrik Stenson. 

The likes of Rafa Cabrera-Bello, Russell Knox, Matt Wallace, Matthew Fitzpatrick and Thomas Pieters missed out on a selection.

The Ryder Cup will take place September 28-30 at Le Golf National outside Paris.