Thomas Bashes ‘God-Awful Rule’ After Incurring Penalty

Justin Thomas is doing everything he can this week at East Lake to try and earn the fourth and final captain’s pick for next week’s Ryder Cup. However, the 23-year-old Kentucky native will have one more stroke to make up over the weekend after he was assessed a Dustin-Johnson-esque penalty on the 11th hole of the second round of the Tour Championship.’s Jim McCabe had the details

Justin Thomas played the final seven holes of Friday’s second round of the Tour Championship knowing that he tentatively had been assessed a one-stroke penalty. But he also knew that he would be given the chance to review it with officials upon the completion of his round.

At question was the slight movement of Thomas’ ball while it was at rest on the putting surface at the par-3 11th at East Lake Golf Club. Thomas had just missed a 10-foot putt for par when he stood back over his ball and started to play his fourth shot. Thomas backed off and called in an official. After a brief discussion, it was deemed that the ball indeed had moved. Instead of bogey, Thomas’ scorecard reflected the double bogey, though he knew there would be a chance to review it.

Unfortunately for him, the review went against him.

Thomas was one of many to vocalize their displeasure with the rule during the U.S. Open earlier this year. Now, Thomas has first-hand experience with it.

Here are the complete second round highlights from Atlanta.

The full leaderboard can be found here.




Be sure to follow us on Twitter @SwingbySwing and Like Us on Facebook.