Caddie Gets Penalized, Costs Pro $12,000


A 72nd-hole penalty assessed to Tour pro Rhein Gibson as a result of his caddie picking up a ball that was in the hazard cost the pro a tie for second place and what amounted to be $12,000.


Playing in the Bahamas Great Abaco Classic, Gibson needed a birdie on the par-5 18th hole at The Abaco Club to tie eventual winner Adam Svensson and force a playoff. After finding the fairway with his drive, Gibson’s second shot ended up in a hazard and his temporary caddie, Brandon Davis, picked up the ball to prepare for Gibson’s drop. 


The result was a penalty under Rule 18-2, which led to Gibson ripping the headcover off of his putter and throwing it at Davis in disgust.

While it seems like an unfortunate turn of events, Davis stands by his actions and points to Decision 26 1.9 as his shield.


The ruling, which Davis states was incorrect, cost Gibson the difference between a tie for second place and solo third-place finish, which according to the official Tour Tie Table for the event works out to $12,000.

Davis also stated on Twitter that his employment with Gibson came to an end with the putter cover throw and that he will no longer be working for him.

As of the time of this posting, the Tour has not commented on Davis’ claim that the rules official was incorrect in his assessing of the penalty. Later in the evening, Davis posted an 8-minute video explaining his side of the situation. 

Gibson currently sits in third place on the Tour’s money list, The 25, which determines who will receive their PGA Tour card at the end of the season.


Keep yourself up-to-date with the latest goings-on in the world of golf by following the SwingxSwing Clubhouse on social media. We share stories, stats and breaking news on Twitter, keep the fun going off the course on Instagram and share any and all golf-related topics on Facebook.

Never be the odd golfer out when your friends are talking about the latest or funniest happenings in golf. Sign up for the SxS newsletter today!