Adam Scott Wins Golf Writers’ Player of the Year Award

In what many believe to be a somewhat shocking result, Masters champion Adam Scott has won the Player of the Year award as voted by the Golf Writers Association of America (GWAA).

According to the Associated Press, Scott won the honor by five votes (out of 218 cast) over Tiger Woods, who had previously been voted as the PGA Tour and PGA of America POY in 2013. The PGA Tour award is voted on by its player roster.

Adam Scott Tiger Woods 600

The GWAA takes many things into account in its year-end voting, including a player’s overall performance on the golf course and not just what occurs on the PGA Tour. To that end, it seems that the GWAA believes Scott is the clear winner considering his four wins worldwide, including Augusta and helping Australia win the World Cup.

As we all know, of course, nothing is cut-and-dry when it comes to year-end voting. Major victories don’t necessarily guarantee Player of the Year honors. Or at least they shouldn’t.

Comparatively, Woods won five times in 2013, but no majors. From a writer-biased vote perspective – which the GWAA obviously features – it would seem that winning a major is the achievement that pushed Scott ahead of Woods.

This isn’t the first time Woods was snubbed by a Player of the Year vote in 2013. “Golf Magazine” voted Phil Mickelson as its POY, aided by his victory at the Open Championship.

Related Links: Scott World’s Best Golfer? | Woods Wins PGA Tour POY

Other Hot Links:
TV Preview: Back9Network Original Programming
Rory McIlroy Engaged to Caroline Wozniacki
Back9Network: Predictions for 2014
Golfstradamaus: 2014 Year in Review
14 Golfers To Watch In 2014