Can You Adjust Your Driver Mid-Round?

Josh Kelley

Josh Kelley

SwingU Instructor

With the technology we have in our golf bags today, a temptation many players may face during a round would be to adjust a driver or other fairway wood to a more advantageous setting. For instance, if you’re playing on an exceptionally windy day and feel you may gain an advantage by delofting your driver, you may do so before the start of your round.

However, were you to make that adjustment to your club after your round has started, under Rule 4.1(a), you would be disqualified from the competition. The same goes for any other club in your bag — once your round has started, if you change the characteristics of the club, you may no longer use that club, and if you do, the penalty is a DQ.  

Subscribe to the SwingU YouTube channel for more instruction from SwingU’s nationally-rated instruction team!